Summer, a new Twitter account, plans for next year…

I hope you are all having a great summer.  I’ve created a new Twitter account just for class information: @WalkerMLCottage (Mobile Learning Cottage was too long). I’ve been spending a lot of time chatting with and learning from other teachers all summer, which has seriously cluttered up my  Twitter feed. Once school starts again, I knew it would be more difficult for parents and students to locate important class information.  I think I followed all of the parents who were already following me on Twitter, so that it would be easy to follow this account as well.

I am very excited for sixth grade. Some of the many things I’m looking forward to:

  • writing workshop
  • writer’s notebooks
  • reading workshop
  • reading journals
  • stems (yay!)
  • genius hour
  • choices for students
  • research project
  • Shakespeare
  • Edgar Allan Poe
  • Photo poetry project

I look forward to seeing everyone at our Open House, which takes place on August 19 at 3:00 pm. I’ve also updated the calendar on the blog site, which shows some basic  Walker dates – PTO meetings, concerts, etc. As always, dates are subject to change.

Just a reminder: please don’t forget to turn in your TDAP shot reports. If your child will not turn 11 before the start of the school year, you must have a letter on file with the date of the scheduled doctor’s appointment.

Enjoy the last few weeks of summer break. I’m definitely looking forward to seeing everyone at Walker on August 19 and then again when school starts on August 21.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *